It is beneficial for both employers and employees if employees are given longer holidays away from work. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this competitive generation, everyone is more focused on obtaining the best results at work, be it be an employer or an employee. Some believe that, it is better for employers to grant longer leaves to their workers, to increase their efficiency and productivity at work. I partially agree with this notion, as long time away from work can also be detrimental to the companies. This essay will explain my point of view with relevant examples.

Firstly, the productivity of a company completely relies in the way the employees function. And for them to not get strained from excessive workload, they need to be provided with breaks to overcome the stress load. For instance, a survey conducted by some researchers in the US, showed higher efficiency at work by employees and greater success rates of companies that provide a month long annual leave.

Such long leaves, help to boost up energy and enhance the performance of employees.

Secondly, due working overtime most of the company workers rarely get personal time for socializing, and they end up suffering from various health issues both physically and mentally. This has proved to negatively impact their work performance and eventually has proved to be harmful to the companies. As a healthy mind lies in a healthy body, providing the workers time off work can help them rejuvenate and this ultimately improves their work output.

Nevertheless, we should not overlook how staying long time away from work can influence the employees. For example, it takes a longer time for people to settle into the workplace once away from work for longer periods.

To recapitulate, for better performance and good productivity, employers should provide holiday time to their employees, keeping in mind the time limits for such vacations.