It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in underdeveloped countries What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work

In some countries, many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

More and more young citizen have decided to take a gap year between finishing junior school and starting university studies in many parts of the world .This trend brings a plenty of benefits about personal growth and valuable life experiences. Nevertheless, it has some drawbacks we should concern like financial resources and wasting time. This essay will discuss both sides.

On the one hand , we consider some obivious advantages about having a gap year. By travelling, prospective students are able to acknowledge diverse culture,new languages from other people.Meeting other people is a good opportunity to broaden your horizon and attain social knowledge because everyone has good quality. You can have a part-time job which helps you independent in finances and appreciate the money you make.Doing voluntary jobs enhances your compassion and sympathy with the poor.It also gives you chance to explore what you truly interested in and have better decision when applying for university. Moreover, people who choose to work before entering university will have less of a financial burden and they are believed to acquire more skills than those who don’t go to work before higher education.Morever many company prefers experienced staff.

However, this tedency brings possible drawbacks that should not be overlooked. After taking a prep year, they might be discouraged to study and more distracted by other activities. Talking about it, after working and travelling students can be neglect to their university studies ,in some cases they never join university back.They aslo incline towards bad habits such as smoking, alcohol consumption ,drug addiction and so on.

In summation,every coin has two sides, on one side taking a break can really help some people to gain exposure to the world, understand the diversity and make better career choices. On the other side, it may ruin their whole life because of restricting their desire to further studies. It is therefore very crucial that one evaluates all the options and take an informed decision.