It is difficult for people in the cities to get enough physical exercise What are the causes and solution

Nowadays, it is reported that citizens are struggle with doing enough workout. This phenomenon is evidently associated with many reasons. However, there is also a solution to mitigate this issue. This essay will briefly explains the causes and solution related to the lack of exercise among citizens.

Living in cities is closely related to the modern lifestyle and various easiness. However, people in cities now have a difficulty to get enough physical exercise. This problem has been raising because of several causes such as being too busy or lost of interest in it. The cities residents usually have busy schedule related to their work or education that make them have no time for doing exercise or sports. A recent survey recruited working people and university students in Jakarta showed that the majority of respondents only did sports or workout once in a couple week because they were too busy and exhausted. They said that they preferred to have rest in their leisure time than to go exercise or gym. Additionally, various good and easy facilities offered in cities are associated to the lost of interest in sports and physical exercise. For instance, instead of walking or cycling, people would like to go to work by comfortable public transportation or online transportation.

One of the solutions that can be offered to solve the problem is a policy that obligate one exercise day in every company or universities. For example, once in a week companies should provide 15-30 minutes aerobic class for employee. Although only 15-30 minutes, the sports class will impact to increase in the health and productivity of the employee as the recent study results conducted in Surabaya report. The study found that employee of the government office that routinely have 15 minutes exercise class had less stress and more productivity. Additionally, their happiness scale were also reported higher than control group (not enough exercise).

In conclusion, being too busy and lost of interest in sports are the main causes of the difficulty of having enough physical exercise. However, a proper policy regulate exercise day in companies or universities could be considered as a potential solution.