Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In this contemporary world, people, especially children, tend to use computers a lot. For many people, exposure to computers is harmful to children while others opine the opposite. However, there are both merits and demerits to deciding to do this. In my perspective, letting children use computers for long hours brings more harm than good.

On the bright side, early exposure to computers can be beneficial. One of the main positives of it is that children will be much more familiar with technology. Because children are fast-learners, they are easier to get used to computers, which has some good aspects. For instance, they can explore the world, broaden their mind through computer’s screens. This can be helpful for children when they reach school age.

Turning to the other side of the argument, overusing computers can be an issue to these preschoolers. To be more precise, computers can directly affect children’s well-being. Using their eyesight as an example. This often leads to short-sightedness, astigmatism and so on. Not only their eyesight is damaged, they will also suffer from obesities, damaged spine.

Another issue is that children can be addicted to computers. In other words, video games and the internet are so charming that children cannot control themselves. This process takes time and can be especially challenging if addicted to computers. Also, some contents can be inappropriate and need to be supervised by parents.

All things considered, letting children use computers from an early age and spend long hours on them is harmful. You need to supervise these preschoolers so that children can experiment the full potential of computers. Personally, I believe there are more harmful effects than the advantages.