It has been argued that parents of children who break the law should be punished because they are responsible for their children’s actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that parents of juvenile deliquents should be penalized because they take responsibility for their children’s actions. Personally, I agree with this school of thought for a number of reasons.

Granted, one might argue that there are many other inferior and exterior factors that cause young people to commit offences such as peer pressure, schools, a culture of violence, etc. For example, if a child is constantly discriminated and beaten by other students, it is likely that he or she will develop a sense of animosity towards others, which may further turn into anti-social behaviour. While this may be true to some extent, it is important to note that this issue is partly due to parents’ lack of care towards their kids. If they paid attention to what was happening with their children at school, they would be aware and find solutions to address the problems immediately.

To add further credence to my assertion, children committing crimes are usually the ones who are negative influenced by their home environment. This can be clearly seen in the case of some young serial killers, most of whom come from dysfunctional families with alcoholic or addicted parents, and a lot of domestic violence. This clearly renders the fact that parents play a pivotal role in moulding in psycho of their offpsrings, and that parents should be held accountable for their children’s criminal acts.

In conclusion, there are cases in which parents are not at fault for their children’s actions, but in most situations, they are one of the main contributory factors. Therefore, parents should be held responsible for the crimes they children commit.