It has been proposed that citizens should only consume food and drink products that have been produced in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea of consuming local food and beverage products from host countries because they correspond to local taste preferences. However, this resulting a scarcity of the foreign investors, particularly in food industry.

The Citizen should eat local meal and drink because it is more suitable in taste than import it, thus it is necessary for residents to create their own food. Not only do they miss their family and home, but if they reside overseas, they also tend to make or find their own cuisine. In Singapore, there is community for Indians, and they eat and sell Indian food there like Makhani (butter chicken) and Chole (chickpea curry) because there will always be a meaningful for local cuisine.

On the other hand, attracting international investors in the food business is quite difficult since they are constrained by rules that require them to consume only local food and beverages. What is the significance of this investment? If the number of customers is small, multinational restaurants such as KFC, Burger King, and Starbuck will not grow their company in a country that mostly citizens do not appreciate foreign cuisine. Finally, a reduction in the cost of capital for external investors has the effect to decrease wages and economic income, especially in food industry sector.

In conclusion, I strongly believed that Investment in food sector is required to boost the national economy, so citizens need to consume other food than what they produced. It is suggested that local food is still sold in greater quantities than international food in supermarket, since more and more residents prefer consume large amounts of local food.