It has been said “Not everything that is learned is contained in books” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books, In your opinion, which source is more important, why?

Nowadays, many people have valued the role of books in learning processes over that of practical experiences. In my opinion, I disagree with those people as both of them are equally essential for learners.

The authenticity and quality of almost kinds of books are superb and gaining pieces of knowledge from them is a great method for students to study without making any bad mistakes. Throughout the history of human beings, many discoveries as well as theories about life were carefully collected and verified before being written down on books, which makes students’ learning processes easier and easier. For instance, the Pythagoras theorem was found and applied to the educational system all over the world without needing to be demonstrated the authenticity again. Additionally, acquiring knowledge from our ancestors rather than finding and evaluating the veracity of these pieces of knowledge prevents us from making mistakes.

From another angle, in some situations, it is not difficult to learn from practical experiences rather than just reading books about it, especially in some fields on practicing. Learning and understanding problems through performing by ourselves sometimes is the best way to gain information, since learners could have deeper insights into what kind of difficulties will exactly happen. For example, if I read a book about football and expect to become a good player, I will definitely fail. However, a person who practices with a ball persistently would perform better than the one who just read about it. Therefore, we can learn faster and more efficiently some practical subjects by using real experience.

In conclusion, I believe the significance of learning from books and learning from practical performances cannot be brought into comparison to see which one is more important because they have distinctively equal meanings to us in learning processes. And it will be great if the educational system can have a combination of two types of learning methods mentioned above.