It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Risk is the spice of life which can push a person to the limit and sharpen his/her sense of bravery and confidence to step out of comfort zone. Both upsides and downsides of this notion will be discussed in the essay.

On the one hand, there are numerous benefits for people to be risk-takers. The good side of taking a risk in life is that it can catapult people toward success and drastically increase the chances of achieving their goals. There is a truth that many of life’s greatest achievements require straying out of their comfort zone and experimenting with novel experiences which expands people’s potential possibilities; hence, some of life’s most rewarding experiences come as a result of taking risks. If a person is risk-averse and insists on complete certainty and safety, that person will never have the chance to turn his dreams into reality. For example, from real-life experiences, Covid-19 pandemic has still been a menace to societies and economies at their core. Consequently, many English centers in Vietnam have gone bankrupt after one-or-two year in business; however, there are still some of them consider Covid-19 a chellenging to be more adaptable, they changed the traditional teaching platform - on-campus learning to distant learning platform through online learning systems with the aids of Zoom and Google Meet conferencing, and with the policy of reducing fees to maintain the budget and income for the center. This quick decision enabled them to stay current in teaching career.

Conversely, risk-taking without careful planning can cause a phobia about failure. Some people are afraid of changing and and a fear of the unknown because many of us feel a sense of security and in control of the direction of their life, and risk-taking often makes people uneasy to think about an undefined future. In fact, human minds are wired to think of the worst-case scenarios due to a fact that not all risks can guarantee success and the thought of rejection pushes people away from taking chances. Some people seeking for a sense of stability and security tend to choose work for state schools or companies although they can fed up with nine-to-five jobs. However, when getting growing, many people can realize the value of being stable and settling down in order to avoid hidden risks. For instance, many people after facing up to failure, they are scared of risk taking when investing money on real estate or self-employing and running a business as their financial situation is negatively affected and then they are not able to pay the mortgage.

In conclusion, risk taking can bring benefit of empowering a person’s willingness to stick to their goals and achieving their potential abilities. However, another drawback of this idea is that it can have negative impact on human’s psychology which is a phobia about being failed. Personally, it is agreed that the advantages can outweigh the disadvantages of the action of taking a risk in life.