It is impossible to help all people in the world,so goverments should only focus on peoplle in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that these days, a number of countries, especially developing ones, choose to engage in foreign affairs for a variety of reasons. Although some critics may be out of tune with governments’ foreign aid, it is, in effect, vital for every nation.

It is advisable that thriving countries should actively collaborate with underdeveloped ones in terms of dealing with hardships. Since many poor countries have been struggling to meet their citizens’ living standards, let alone tackle social issues, voluntarily external support is one of the most effective ways to help those countries out. For example, when Ebola broke out in Africa a few years ago, many well-trained European doctors were sent in to take care of impoverished patients whose countries were facing run-down infrastructure in medical conditions, which then helps to outstandingly bring off setting back the epidemic. In addition, it is evident that developing nations would have much potential when it comes to finance and workforce, to name a few. This means its government should appropriate money for helping others rather than pour it into futile projects.

Another compelling reason to get involved in foreign affairs is that not only the aided countries but also the aiding ones benefit from it. First, if the foreign support were successful, the country would lend its name to the world’s market. In fact, more trust would be obtained so that future conferences with other nations would sail through with flying color. Second, having made an effort to aid foreign countries, a nation can witness the stability of its economy. For instance, when a member of ASEAN is susceptible to the economic crisis, it is imperative for its neighbors to provide appropriate aids as otherwise, they would then have to suffer.

In conclusion, governments should take great care of both locals and external people who are in need for the sake of the world. If not, the nation may fall into disrepute and run into difficulties when there comes an unsolvable issue.