It is more important for a building to serve its purposes than to look beautiful. Architects do not need to worry about whether it is a real work of art. Do you agree or disagree?

Buildings, not very different from other commodities, perform various functions and serve varying needs of their users. At the centre of the controversy is whether the purposes of a building should be placed above its aesthetical values. As far as I am concerned, these two qualities are not conflicting, but mutually beneficial.

In a modern society, aesthetical considerations are no longer considered as insignificant or luxury but have been integrated as a core function of a building. People have comprehensive requirements or a building. No longer limited to such ordinary functions, such as safety, durability, space, access to facilities, their interests involve decorative details and visual qualities, including ornamentation and furnishings. In simple terms, a pedestrian-looking building is bound to mismatch the trend of the market.

Meanwhile, it is worth mentioning that some types of buildings are broadly expected by the public to possess aesthetical values. Standard examples include restaurants, theatres, churches and so forth. A building falling in these categories desires a design of originality and rarity, aiming to distinguish itself from other constructions of its kind or those in its surroundings. Architects' inspirations add values to the building and increase its marketability. Many buildings have become symbolic in the city or region where they are located.

When being concerned with the aesthetic aspect of architecture, people should consider economic feasibility. The focus on the exterior of a building alone will lead to the increase in construction cost, making such an endeavour unjustified. In those cities where overpopulation continues to be a problem and many people cannot afford housing, whether a building looks beautiful would not be taken seriously. In that situation, the rationale is to accommodate a huge population, rather than simply please the eye.

Based on the arguments outlined above, adding visual appeals to a building is consistent with the needs of a modern society. However, it does not mean that the concern on aesthetics should be at the expense of a building's practical functions; on the contrary, a building should be the result of the delicate balance between the two ide