: It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people have valued the role of domestic history to schoolchildren over that of international history. However, I believe that this notion should be rejected as both of them ought to be given similar attention based on the following arguments.

Having thorough insights into the history of one’s locality is, undeniably, indispensable for students’ early education. Children who understand the history of their country are more likely to appreciate their culture and the contribution of their ancestors. This appreciation will help them to build up patriotism and grow into proud citizens. For example, it is compulsory for primary and high school students in my country to learn about how their ancestors defended their land against outside intruders. Therefore, those children would treasure the liberty and privileges they are enjoying and not take those for granted.

On the other hand, world history is no less important than local one. There is little room for doubt that globalization is one of the most conspicuous trend recently. Consequently, the mere understanding of domestic history and traditions is insufficient for learners’ future career. Better knowledge of international issues is considered key to promoting mutual understanding and cooperation. As a result, those students who accumulate knowledge in this particular field would stand a higher chance of employment as well as promotion, especially if they wish to work for multinational corporations. In addition, the study of local history should not be separated from world history, as the two fields are closely related. What happened in the past in one country might be attributed to other events occurring elsewhere. Therefore, acquiring knowledge about international history equips students with a more well-rounded perspective, aiding them in obtaining the knowledge more thoroughly and comprehensively.

In conclusion, I believe the significance of domestic and international history cannot be brought into comparison because they have distinctively equal meanings to school children.