It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history To what extent do you agree or disagree

There are many people who believe that children should be taught the history of the place where they are living rather than the history of the globe. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement for the reasons below.

On the one hand, local history plays a vital role in every country’s education system as it helps students to sow the seed of a sense of patriotism and national pride. Nowadays, although French colonization and America invasion period are included in every history book, the density and seamlessness of the lesson seem to be decreased because students are compulsory to take lessons of global history such as the Ice Age period, art, and political status of the Medieval period. Generally, this will make students more ignorant of their local history and cannot stimulate them to study hard and contribute to the country. For instance, in Vietnam, according to a recent survey, more than 49 percent of the twelve grader’s graduation history test result did not reach the average mark; however, turning to the history of other countries such as China or Japan, those graders can perpetually tell both real and fan-fictional facts. Those are nothing but disgrace to the sacred efforts made by forefathers.

On the other hand, global history is of great importance as students can gain knowledge and experience from it. In western countries, there is an undeniable fact that many famous businessmen apply historical lesson into operating their business; some of them believe that ignoring history either local or global can hinder them on their career path. For instance, almost every business person may once have read “36 military strategies and tactics” by Sun Tzu because it has been proved that those lessons given by this man can be applied into the economic section. Even the Westerners learn from an ancient strategist from China so there is no point in not learning about other countries as well as global history.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government should bring balance and place more emphasis on both local and global history. This is because not only children can become more patriotic but also, they can reap experience and lessons in order to work and study in the future.