It is more important to spend more public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is imperative to focus on raising funds to encourage a healthy lifestyle so that people can be protected from diseases instead of curing them of an illness. I partly agree with this opinion for two main reasons.

On the one hand, prevention helps lighten the burden that patients put on the medical system and government. If people are healthy, they will not need treatment from doctors or nurses. In view of the global outbreak of Covid-19, citizens are encouraged to get vaccinated and be conscious of wearing masks in public simultaneously. This way not only makes dwellers become resistant to this novel virus but also minimizes the incidence of Covid-19. This also ensures that hospitals can provide infected patients with enough medical care and ultimately cure them. In addition, compared with the prevention, the cost of treatment is high. In other words, the government spends a major expense to equip the hospitals. Take the example of ventilators, which produced by the company of Vietnam’s richest man Pham Nhat Vuong cost around $7000 in Vietnam. However, if people have a healthy lifestyle and do not suffer from diseases, the government will save an amount of money. Therefore, patients are no longer burdens to the health care and government.

On the other hand, there are some congenital diseases that a healthy lifestyle can not prevent such as heart disease or down syndrome. These diseases can be inherited by parents and patients with genetic diseases may experience a disability throughout life. In another case, many unpredictable emergencies can occur, namely, traffic collisions or electric shocks. If the government concentrated mainly on prevention and ignores the investment in urgent healthcare, the death toll from these unintentional injuries would be increasing out of control.

In conclusion, the government should strike a balance between a healthy life and adequate health care and motivates citizens to keep a strict watch on their health.