It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree? - IELTS Writing Task 2

It is sometimes argued that providing tertiary education for a massive number for young people is both impossible and not essential. I totally agree with this view.

First, that most young people can join university is not feasible, especially in developing nations. For government, they need an enormous investment for educational facilities, and infrastructure to secure that a high proportion of youngsters can have university education . Unfortunately, some poor nations have to prioritize basic needs such as food, universal education or healthcare system than high education for most of the young. Moreover, for students and their family, not all of them can afford the tuition fees of university, especially in some countries with high tuition fees like the UK and the U.S. A clear example of this is lover proportion of the U. K university attendant number than Germany, which has a free education system.

Second, widespread entry into university does not seem really useful for some reasons. There is no guarantee that students will become successful and contribute to the well-being of their nation after finishing their education. For examples, in some cases, distinguished graduates can't find decent jobs and become unemployed, which adds to the burden on societies. Furthermore, if everyone could get admittance to university, it would lead to imbalance in workforce. This is primarily because the higher proportion of young people pursuing tertiary education, the lower will choose blue - collar jobs.

In conclusion, I believe that it is not only unpractical but also not useful to provide tertiary education places for you too many young people.