It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people Agree or disagree

Sentiments diverge on whether it is unnecessary and pointless for governments to offer the accessibility of tertiary education to the majority of young people. Although some formidably censure this stance, I advocate it due to some rational reasons.

Admittedly, it is not feasible to offer university places for a large figure of the young. To begin with, the prohibitive tuition fees are beyond the ability to pay off of the majority of youths. This can be explained that families have to borrow money from the government bank to pay for their children’s annual school fees. This leads to the second reason which means the government has other priorities such as universal education and a healthcare system to invest in. As a result, the burden of the national budget is so great that the state cannot provide enough facilities as well as human resources for lecturers.

Furthermore, if everyone could gain admittance to college, it would lead to imbalances in a workforce that would greatly damage the economic structure. In other words, the unemployment rate after graduation is very high leading to the country suffering from a frustrated, jobless task force, with no value to society. There is a truth that multiple people who don't go to college can still work. In many countries, especially Singapore, vocational training has gained more popularity among young people because it enhances employment opportunities as well as job security upon completion. That is why excess mental labor and vocational training after graduation instead of university is more interested by the government.

By way of conclusion, I believe it is not possible not needed for everyone to have a university degree, there are other occupations that are as important as a university degree for the development of a country.