It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read Why do you think this is What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There is no doubt that reading is very important for the improvement of children’s mind; however, it is debated that many parents find it is difficult to make their children read. I think this is because of two main reasons, and there are many ways to evolve children into reading.

The main vital reason for this phenomenon is that children find reading is a boring hobby; therefore, they find other activities like watching TV and playing video games more fascinating. This is because their parents in many cases choose the wrong book to start with, which gives the child a negative impression about reading totally. Furthermore, in this age, they need a dynamic activity to put all their power in, and this what they see in games instead of reading. Another reason for hating reading is the way of teaching, which relies on reciting information instead of practical work. For example, lots of teachers and schools in the developing countries mainly depend on the teacher-led lessons without any coordination between the teacher and the students, resulting in bored students.

There are, however, many approaches so that children be encouraged to read. Firstly, parents should start with choosing a suitable book for their child, depending on his age and his preferences, and reading it for him aloud in a funny way. This may make a physical connection between the child and the events in the book, which might be really convenient. Secondly, if the parents put the child in a readable environment, such as a specific reading area or time, this will deliver a strong message to the child of how this is important; and finally, teaching techniques should be maintained to be more about autonomous learning, including supplements from the internet as well. As a result, children will learn how to search for the information themselves, increasing their skills.

In conclusion, I do believe that there are two main reasons of hating reading: finding it a boring activity; and the traditional way of education, there are many measurements could be taken to encourage them to read, however.