It is quite common for both parents in a family to work. Sometimes it is because they need two salaries to survive whereas other times it their choice.What problems do you see in this situation? How does this affect the children and family life?

In recent times due to the increase in the cost of living, many parents are forced to work. Some people claim that this has adverse effect on their offspring. This essay will discuss the effect of working parent on the family.

Due to the inflation, the standard of living in many developed countries has just shot up, making life difficult to sustain. With the real estate prices reaching the ceiling point where it is extremely difficult of one to even purchase it with the current salary. Due to oil and gas sector being hit transportation rate have increased considerable making travelling expensive. With all these it is very difficult for a single working member to provide his family with basis needs. Therefore, many parents are compelled to work to provide their family with basic necessities of life.

With both parent working there is not family life. Families tend to have no interaction resulting in misunderstand and family conflicts. There are many case studies where both the parent become stressed out and tends to get annoyed on each other’s mistakes, resulting in family separation.

On the other hand, this type of life style has adverse effect on the child future. Firstly, as there is no one to monitor or mentor the children, these children are very venerable and get easily convinced by outsider in doing wrong things. For example, there was a recent incident, where a child sold his families gold to get a pocket money to buy goodies. Secondly, these children being alone at home get addicted to TV resulting in slow development of the brain and other complication. Lastly, children nearing their youth, when unattended at home fell bored and try to explore the evil side of the society. For example, they tend to watch pornography, smoke and indulge in other bad habits.

To recapitulate, with both parents working, there are many ill effect and should be avoided. However , parent who have no other option need to spend precious time in nurturing their children and create a good relationship with them. Through proper communication they need to build gap between the children and parents. Parent should go for regular outing during their vacation or holidays thus enabling the child to experience the outside world.