It's better to talk to your friends online using WeChat, Snap Chat, or Facebook than it is to see them.

While some individuals believe that talking to your friends through an online chatting app is better than meeting in person. I would argue that the online method is only an alternative when people and people cannot meet in person

On the one hand, there are several reasons why many people choose online communication. Firstly, online chatting can be a great tool to stay in contact with friends or family who may live far away or overseas. Students studying abroad, for example, can keep in touch with their families and friends on a daily basis using the video call features of Snapchat. Secondly, it can save us time. Online methods don’t take a lot of time – time to arrange, time to get there and back, and time to sit through.

On the other hand, face-to-face communication is often more effective than written or audio-only conversations. This is because seeing one another allows us to pick up on nonverbal cues and body language. Furthermore, they can also interact through facial expressions, and tone of voice and even feel the energy with which the person expresses himself, also being able to see each other helps us understand each other better.

In the nutshell, even though both methods have their own merits, I tend to believe that online communication is never going to be as powerful as face-to-face communication. Even though digital brings us work efficiency, money saving and convenience, online conversation and video conferencing do not bring the positive effects that face-to-face meetings can give us.