It should be more expensive to make sugary products less appealing to consumers in order to encourage them to consume less. Many manufactured foods and drinks contain high levels of sugar, which can cause many health problems. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, it is widely believed that sugar has been increasingly consumed in people’s daily meals, which can result in several adverse impacts on their health, and the products with high amounts of sugar should be more exorbitant. I, personally, totally agree with these statements.

For a variety of reasons, overconsuming sugary foods and beverages may lead to serious health problems and illnesses. To be more specific, these products tend to be more affordable than healthy food as they contain fewer valuable nutrients for the body. Therefore, they seem to be the principal selection for low-income households or people under the poverty line. The more sweet food they eat, the more obesity they suffer from. To demonstrate, according to a survey in 2018 in Cambodia, more than 32% of poor people were overweight and endured diabetes because of high sugar content in their blood.

There is a mountain of motives why the government had better impose greater taxes on sugary products in order to make them less attractive to the consumers. First, if the prices are so far extravagant and lavish, people may eat sweet food and soft drink. As a result, the number of cases diagnosing diabetes would sooner plummet. Second, when poor-quality food is pricey, individuals may purchase nourishing one instead. Thus, the local authorities should diminish the cost of healthy and nutritional food for more customers, especially those in the middle class, to afford these wholesome and fresh products.

Taking everything into consideration, it reinforces my perspective that sugary foods and beverages can adversely harm people’s health. However, augmenting the prices of these products may mitigate this problem.