It is suggested that everyone wants to have a car, a television and a fridge. Do the disadvantages of this development for society outweighthe advantages?

Some people believe that it is necessary for each person to possess an item of some fundamental needs for traveling, entertainment, and food storage. Although some clear benefits of such development could be seen, they are, in my view, eclipsed by the considerable drawbacks.

On the one hand, several reasons explain the positive influence of having own private items like a car, a fridge, or a television. Firstly, traveling is a basic need of people, especially for those who live away from their workforce and can stay active all the time thanks to the availability of vehicles. Furthermore, television has a variety of channels such as cartoons, and news that meets human recreation needs after hard-working days. Finally, when in possession of a fridge, people would save more time on shopping for food. Also, food can keep longer and fresher to avoid spoilage and money-saving.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why I still believe that possession of some items creates more harm. The first reason is that vehicles bring a big influence on the environment like polluted smoke from transportation, or consuming fossil fuels that are not alternative if everyone had his private form of transport. In addition, it would cost a legacy if every person insisted on purchasing his own fridge and TV. This is because property prices would certainly accelerate owing to the growth in customers’ demand for those commodities. Another concern is a sedentary and unhealthy lifestyle has increased, people just absorb the food, not release it. As a result, many young people have faced obesity and heart diseases.

To sum up, although there can be no doubt that having a car, a TV, and a fridge can be beneficial to society to a certain extent, I assert that it will do more harm to our health, and the environment.