Lacking of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance What problems does this shortage cause What measures could be taken to overcome these problems

In modern society, water shortage can be considered as an alarming issue on a global scale. While the causes of this situation are varied, some methods can be taken to such a problem.

To begin with, there are some reasons why water crisis is a global issue. Firstly, more and more factories and industrial zones are built to meet consumer need. Therefore, the amount of waste from industrial activities has increased significantly; however, industrial wastes which released into environment such as streams, lakes and rivers was almost untreated. As a results, water resources are seriously polluted as well as being not recycled for using. In addition, ineffective use and management of water is also one of the main reasons which cause water deficit. In particular, excessive use of groundwater in agricultural industries is leading to reduced production and waste of water. For example, more than 70% of the global groundwater is used by humans for farming, and most of this water is wasted due to leaky pipes and poor irrigation techniques.

Fortunately, this issue can be tackled by a number of practical solutions by both government and individuals. In terms of government, they can pass laws to punish companies and businesses that damage the water environment by illegally discharging waste. By imposing stricter penalties on these businesses, it serves as a deterrent to reduce water pollution which is the root cause of water scarcity. Moreover, some sustainable water management measures should be implemented by the authority. In other words, they should look for optimal options in the use and development of water resources. Furthermore, with proper training and education as well as proper guidance on the use of water resources, this will greatly contribute to preventing water resources from running out.

To conclude, the underlying reasons for water deficit are varied. Nevertheless, there are some suggestions can be carried out by not only governments but also individuals to improve this problem.