Language teachers should concentrate on giving positive feedback to students when they do goodwork, rather than on criticising bad work.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning and teaching languages have become a major part of education in many countries. For this reason, there are two approaches to deal with language learners' learning outcomes with either reinforcing their good responses or directing sharp criticism to their bad responses to be avoided. As an educator, I support the first point of view that is based on reinforcement of correct responses.

First, giving a positive feedback would enhance the students' linguistic performance in terms of the four skills. Also, by highlighting what is correct, the language teacher, in this case, is giving the students a clue about what should they model to be better. To support this opinion, there is a research, which was conducted in 2008, revealed that 70% of English language learners prefer to get support for their correct pronunciation to stick to this pronunciation rather that being criticized because of their slips. Moreover, this study asserts that if language tutors insist on magnifying their learner's errors, this may frustrate the students to an extent that they may quit language courses. That's why providing the students with constructing feedback is an ideal alternative to criticism to enhance the students' linguistic skills.

Likewise, constructive feedback may be a better choice for language instructors because it starts by providing the learner with his/her good point and ends with the points of enhancements. Actually, in that way, the teacher may avoid the negative effects of criticism as constructive feedback is using a sort of euphemism. To exemplify, an Arabic as a foreign language learner who is fluent in speaking, but he/she is facing learning difficulties in writing due to mother tongue interference, shall be satisfied if the teacher supports his/her oral performance and speaking skill rather than mocking his/her writing. So this kind of feed might be found as effective in lowering the students affective filter.

To conclude, I would say that language educators are addressed to direct the students' attention to what they excel and not what they lack. In my opinion, this would be the best method of teaching that may break the ice between the learners and learning a language.this reason, there are two approaches to deal with language learners' learning outcomes with either reinforcing their good responses or directing sharp criticism to their bad responses to be avoided. As an educator, I support the first point of view that is based on reinforcement of correct responses.

To conclude, I would say that language educators are addressed to direct the students' attention to what they excel and not what they lack. In my opinion, this would be the best method of teaching that may break the ice between the learners and learning a language.