Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result people gravitate towards buying their products What problems does this cause What could be done to encourage people to buy local products

Multinational companies or large-scale companies have entered to the local market. The large-scale companies use massive marketing strategies to compete with the local businesses. For their massive marketing strategies, they allocate a huge sum of money. However, due to their heavy marketing strategies, local businesses impact negatively.

when these large-scale companies move to remote areas, the people in the village automatically get attracted to these outlets. The main reason for this is the discounts that they are providing for customers and their advertisements that run on social media and all digital media, these tend to attract more and more people. This cause a heavy impact to local traders such as, customer base will be reduced, as a result the income and the profit of the local businesses will be reduced. The local community will lose employment opportunities as the local businesses struggle to operate. Due to the reduction of employment opportunities, the living standards of people may be declined, and it would result the local economy to be weakened. Market monopoly will be formed. Once a market monopoly is formed, the supplier or the producer can control the price of the product, where this would create many drawbacks to the local community. Due to the large-scale businesses, the money flow will always be out from the economy where it would also create negative impacts to the society.

The main way to overcome these issues is the intervention of the government. The government could provide subsidies and tax relieves to the local businesses. Therefore, the local businesses could invest a considerable amount for marketing and develop their marketing strategies. Other than providing tax reliefs and subsidies to the local businesses, the government could charge a considerable amount of taxes from large scale businesses. This method will indirectly increase the price of the products of large-scale business, then as a result due to high prices customers will left without a choice other than the local product. Therefore, the customers will tend to move to local products. Local business could provide more quality products to customers and priced them at reasonable prices.

To sum up, it is clear that with the intervention of large-scale businesses the local community face a loss, but with proper strategies and with the intervention of the government the local businesses are able to overcome the threat.