A large number of unmarried youngsters now live on their own in cities away from their hometowns. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Almost any day of the week we can look at a newspaper and read articles discussing the increasing proportion of unmarried adolescents who live without elderly people in big cities. There are several points of view on this matter. The first claims that it is beneficial for youngsters as they earn real-life experience due to the fact that they have to earn money for living by themselves. An alternative point regards living separately as harmful and considers young people should live with parents until they are ready for adult life as the best option.

On the one hand, it is obvious that in recent years there have been some changes in the minds and lifestyles of youngsters as they tend to be independent from elderly people in any aspects of life. This trend is becoming more and more popular. It does not matter whether you like it or not you have to recognize the fact that living on their own can be beneficial and obtain some abilities, such as money budgeting, self-consciousness, time management. Moreover, nobody can deny that it is exceedingly difficult to replace real-life experience with something else totally.

However, this attitude may cause a lot of concerns among people who believe that after separating from parents everything will be absolutely different. It can be argued that youngsters who are pursuing money can forget about other things, such as education, marriage, and time for self-development. Of crucial importance is how we define the matter in question. It is often said that living with parents may lead to some problems, such as infantility and spendthriftness. But it is necessary to take into account all the circumstances of each individual case.

From my point of view, the latter opinion makes sense definitely, as it follows from my own experience, as I live with my parents. In any way, an attitude to this issue always depends on a particular person’s character and his or her personal background.