Light corporal punishment is being introduced in schools of UK what are the advantages and disadvantages? Discuss

Lately, many schools in UK has introduced light corporal punishment as a alternative way to force students be obedient. Some people are angry and disapproval of this idea as this punishment harms their children while others totally concur because they think light corporal punishment is effective in making students more submissive.

Corporal punishment at schools has long been decried as it harms students both physically and mentally. Under the pressure of the public, governments in almost every nation in the world have to ban this punishment. However, recently, many schools in UK have suggested applying corporal punishment in teaching with a light level. Although they claim that children will not be harmed so much if they lightly penalize them, the effects that corporal punishment has on students are serious. One can clearly see that this punishment will surely leave pain on children. Some children, after being punished, they be more submissive while others become more stubborn and keep behaving badly. Consequently, they will receive more corporal punishment from teachers and definitely, they will hate schools and start playing truant. Children not only have to suffer from pain physically but mentally. Corporal punishment leaves trails on students which make they feel ashamed of themselves. They may be derided of by friends and therefore, they avoid contacts will others. This makes children who were punished corporally become shy and unsociable. Moreover, they can develop fear for penalties, teachers and schools. This fear may last for a long time even until students have grown up. In a word, corporal punishment is injurious for the development of children.

On the other hand, corporal punishment shows that it is somehow a helpful means to educate children. Since schools use light type this punishment, its negative effects on students are not so serious while its positive ones are enormous. As stated above, punishment leaves pain on children, these reminds them of the consequences they have to receive if they break the rules. Therefore, they totally aware that they have to be obedient the following times so as not to be punished again. Due to this awareness, students will do the right things which are allowed by schools and parents as well as avoid wrongdoings. One can see that light corporal punishment is much more effective in educating students than any others are. This punishment is undeniable advantageous at schools and even at home.

Although corporal punishment is beneficial, almost everyone dissent with the idea of bringing this back to schools. Parents want their children to be taught the right thing as well as be protected, not to be hurt,especially by teachers. Unlike these people, some agree with this idea as they want their children to be strictly taught. In conclusion, light corporal punishment has both positive and negative effects on the development of students and whether schools can use this punishment remains a controversial matter.