"Living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

There is a growing concern about the impact of city life on urban citizens’ health. While I agree that the availability of health services and facilities in city centers would benefit urban inhabitants greatly, I believe that city life also has detrimental effects on people’s health.

Firstly, I admit that living in cities is beneficial for people’s health to some certain extent. City dwellers can easily access fitness centers and recreation centers to improve their physical well-being and relieve stress, whereas those places might not be provided in the countryside. Besides, compared to those patients living in rural areas their counterparts living in cities might be able to access better health facilities and innovative technologies that can help with diagnosing a variety of diseases such as diabetes or cancer at an early stage and effectively treating them.

However, I believe that some physical and mental health problems would likely be the result of city life. The constant stream of noise from construction sites and transportation systems would result in noise pollution, and this might cause hypertension, tinnitus and sleep disturbances. Pollutants including exhaust emissions from motor vehicles and coal ash from industrial parks and are the main culprits of a number of health problems including respiratory infections, heart disease and lung cancer. Heavy traffic congestion in some metropolises like Beijing often makes commuters feel frustrated, and busy lifestyles might deprive people their time to relax, negatively affecting their health.

In conclusion, while I agree that the advantages that city life would bring to urban citizens are undeniable, I believe that some clear negative consequences for their physical and psychological well-being should not be denied.