Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Migrating to a new home can be a challenge, especially when one does not speak the local language. While this communication barrier may present some immigrants with difficulties in assimilating into their new culture, I do not agree this is necessarily true for all newcomers, notably those who move to the big cities.

Most of the today’s major cities are multicultural hubs where a variety of languages are spoken. This means that a person newly arrived in one of these metropolises can likely find members of his culture with whom to interact while adapting to his new life. In other words, this person should find it relatively easy to take care of practical matters like shopping, opening a bank account, getting medical services, and so on. Moreover, many of these immigrant communities have centers to facilitate social interactions, meaning newcomers can build a social network, conduct business, and even find romantic partners, all while using their native tongue as they learn the new language.

On the other hand, those who move to less cosmopolitan areas surely have more problems, both social and practical. Without being able to communicate with neighbors, store clerks, or even with doctors, these immigrants can find each day a struggle to survive. Making things worse is the fact that they may end up friendless and even experience abuse by the locals with whom they cannot engage. Thus, not only will a person feel lonely, but he or she may be viewed by the local inhabitants as a stranger not to be trusted. In the long term, this harms not only the individual, but the social harmony as a whole.

To conclude, migrants who move to areas where their compatriots live in numbers generally do not have a difficult time adjusting to their new home. The problems of integration thus apply mainly to those who move to more rural and remote areas where language barriers can be a serious issue.