Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking, or dressing should not be taught.

To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Some people hold a belief that school should be a place where students study academic subjects to pass the examination rather than to learn skills such as dressing or cookery. As far as my concern, I partly disagree with this opinion. In spite of the significance of academic knowledge and exams, student should be taught other fundamental skills for life.

First of all, studying academic knowledge is not only vital for student in examination’s results but can also in tertiary education and job opportunities. With good results, students have an more advantages in their job prospect in the future because their academic performance after many years of study is appreciated by employers. Moreover, academic subjects equip students with fundamental knowledge that will be used in university or some training courses in particular job. For example, Vietnamese students have to study many subjects at school and pass final exams before getting into university. Without a deep understanding basic knowledge in school, it is hard for student have a good career orientation or master and doctor qualification in the future.

However, learning practical skills is helpful for students who lives far from family. Foreign students need to prepare healthy and affordable meals themselves instead of eating out at restaurants which is costly. Moreover, attending practical skill classes at school is also an effective way for students to relax after many hours of studying academic subjects. Through a wide range of activities, students are able to find out their suitable hobbies in their leisure time which can create a better life style for them.

In conclusion, I disagree that students should be taught academic knowledge to pass exam only, and practical skills is not necessary to be taught for students because both sectors give student some particular benefits in the future such as job prospects, tertiary education and better life style.