Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Sometimes people have to live in a country which require them to speak with foreign language. Some people argue that it will cause significant social and practical problems. I completely agree with the statement that having to speak foreign language will cause both social and practical problems.

Firstly, this is because, language is significant in doing social interaction with people. Thus, if one does not master the foreign language, he will most likely to face a social problem, where he can be an outsider in a social community. This can happen not only in neighborhood, but also in the workplace. For example, James just moved from US to Taiwan, where he have to speak a foreign language that he does not really master, Mandarin Chinese. As a result, he often can not interact properly with his colleagues in the workplace, and he can not join their social groups.

Secondly, language also holds important role in doing practical things, or can be said doing our daily activities. This can be riding public transportation, ordering food in a restaurant, and understanding local announcement. Most of those practical activities require ability to understand the foreign language. Therefore, someone that does not understand the foreign language well will face difficulty in doing their daily activities. For instance, John is a foreigner from UK who just moved to a city in China. Almost all the transportation signs and food menu are written in Mandarin Chinese. Because he does not really understand them, he faces problem in doing his daily activities.

In conclusion, I completely agree that having to speak foreign language will cause both social and practical problems because language is significant in doing social interaction and also crucial in doing our daily activities.