Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems

Sometimes, people have to live in a country that does not speak their mother language. Some people opine that this may cause significant social and practical problems. I completely agree with the statement that having to speak foreign language will cause problems in both social and practical matters.

Firstly, the reason why speaking foreign language may create social problem is because language serves as a communication bridge between people. In every communication, from short to long conversations, people are using language to communicate what they want to say. Thus, if someone does not understand the language that most people are using, he will most likely to be isolated from any social group. This can happen in various communities, ranging from workplace to neighborhood. For instance, a guy from United Kingdom moved to Japan and he does not understand Japanese. Whereas, all of his workmates are mostly Japanese and they speak in Japanese, which then lead to him feel isolated and can not do social interaction in his workplace.

Secondly, the reason why speaking foreign language can cause practical problem is because language can not be separated in doing everyday activities. It can be riding public transportation, ordering food menu to reading public signs. All of those activities require understanding of foreign language. Consequently, if people don't understand the language, they will most likely find difficulties in doing his daily activities and face practical problems. For an example, an Americans just moved to Taiwan where most of food menu are written in Mandarin Chinese. Because he does not master Mandarin Chinese, he finds practical problem where he feels difficult to order menu.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the statement that having to speak language that is not our mother language will create problems in both social and practical matters because language serves as a communication bridge between people and language can not be separated in doing everyday activities.