Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Living in a foreign country is both an interesting and challenging experience. I do agree that serious social and practical problems are very likely to occur, however, they can totally be avoided if we try to learn and respect each other's country cultures.

On the one hand, there are several difficulties when living in a foreign country. The social problem most people have to face is the language barrier, which means a person can not understand or speak the language of the country he lives in. The lack of understanding without verbal communication is quite troublesome as it may lead to miscomprehension or confusions. Furthermore, in some cases, due to cultural difference, one can accidentally offend the locals with inappropriate behavior and word and therefore makes things complicated. For instance, the French often greet others by kissing on both cheeks while in some Asian countries this kind of action may be impolite or even considered sexual harassment. For practical issue, it would be about finding a job. It is hard to find a well-paid job because many companies put the priority of hiring the native over the immigrant, and it is harder if the person is not fluent in the local language.

On the other hand, those disadvantages mentioned above might not be as serious as we think. The first reason is that the difference in behavior is understandable and can be forgiven by the native. The second is one should do research and learn about the culture and customs of his living-in country to prevent misunderstandings. If the person is open-minded and tolerant enough, the challenges of accommodating in a foreign country will be solved little by little.

To summarize, I partially agree that an individual's life can be affected by social and practical problems if living abroad that differs in language, but most problems are not unnecessarily severe should he had fully prepared.