Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that living in foreign lands is difficult as the language may prove to be a barrier. This may lead to several problems. I agree with this opinion and this essay will portray some of the impacts.

There are several social and practical problems that arises while living in another country. Some people face difficulties in speaking or understanding the language. As a consequence, they are unable to connect with the locals there, which can become a hindrance while seeking help. For example, when a person is ill and needs medical attention, he may be unable to convey his symptoms correctly to the doctor as the doctor is unfamiliar with the patients native language. Furthermore, people face difficulties in adjusting to a different culture.

However, people can overcome these drawbacks in several ways. One way is by finding a person who speaks the foreign language fluently as well as understand the language of the person. This could be a friend or a translator, who can be hired for a fee. Moreover, the advancement of technology has led to the development of several apps that helps translate the languages or convert the speech to text in a matter of seconds. But the friend or the translator may not be available all the time. Also, most apps are not able to provide the correct translations of the words.

To sum up, though there are several solutions for dealing with foreign language issues people continue to face problems in many ways than one while dealing with unfamiliar languages.