Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

I agree a little with the statement that living in a country where we have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social and pratical problems, especially during the early years, because of the following reasons.

The first reason why people can have such problems when they are living in a foreign country is because of cultural difference. Each country in our world has its own culture. So, there are things which a country sees them as polite while others rude. For example, pointing with an index finger is acceptable in most culture, except in muslims'. Hence, foreign people can have social and practical problems because they portray themselves as rude infront of the locals without any awareness.

The second reason can be because of their inappropriate choice of words. Since those people are not speaking in their mother tongue, they may not understand the full meaning of their chosen words. It can be that the words they choose are either not right for the circumstance or rude from the cultural stand point. For instance, in burmease, there are many ways to say "I", but all of them must be used according to whom a speaker is speaking to. If they choose incorrect words, they may get such problems.

In conclusion, because of the above reasons, I agree with the statement. However, I only agree a little as these problems only last for the early stages of the stay.