Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It is generally opined that communicating in the native language of a foreign country can lead to trouble while socializing and living there. The question is if it really is the case. In my opinion, it is true to a large extent and indeed can land one in troublesome situations. However, with the invention of Google translate and other language conversion tools, such scenarios can be avoided to a degree.

Wrong pronunciation is One of the prime reasons for day-to-day problems faced with the use of non-native tongue in another country. This is because it can totally change the meaning of a word and can easily confuse local people. This, in return, can prolong communication leading to a totally different outcome than what was desired in the first place. A recent survey highlighted the fact that Spanish people found it extremely difficult to comprehend the Spanish language spoken in Asian accent. Although this can be mitigated by the use of technological translation softwares that can pronounce the word for a person but there is a rare chance of its frequent usage. Therefore, without technology availability, a mispronounced word evidently causes problems in social settings.

Another barrier in speaking a foreign language is the lack of grammatical knowledge. Non-native speakers usually make a plethora of grammatical errors particularly in tenses. Consequently, this renders their speech ineffective in certain practical situations. For instance, instead of saying i will be on leave, someone might end up with a phrase such as i was on leave. Hence, use of inappropriate grammar can inevitably result in an unintentional miscommunication which can cause issues.

To recapitulate, speaking a foreign language while staying in that country indeed results in many communication issues owing to improper pronunciation and grammatical inaccuracy. This can be solved through usage of advanced applications such as Google Translate but it is quite unlikely that it will eliminate the problem.