A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income Unfortunately tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well managed What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world Do you think that the benefit

Tourism is the main factor contributing to the GDP of many regions on Earth. However, should there is mismanagement, there will be a host of repercussions. From my perspective, although tourism in today’s life is a double-edged sword, its advantages do surpass the disadvantages. This essay will pen down both the negative and positive sides and provide valid support for my verdict.

On the one hand, travel might exert pernicious impacts on the environment, which is mainly attributed to the awareness of tourists. For example, when going abroad to an alien nation, some travellers might resist the urge to protect the natural habitat of indigenous flora and fauna as they consider preserving this area meaningless and nonprofit for them. However, this is not always the case. Thanks to educational tourism programs and strict regulations of local authorities, visitors could acquire more insights into their destinations and be willing to channel their efforts into protecting the environment for the sake of the whole society. Therefore, only to a minimal extent does tourism take a toll on the natural environment.

On the other hand, significant merits of economic and workforce development do outweigh the disadvantage mentioned above. Being one of the most potential industries in the modern world, tourism is now the decisive factor of economic development in many nations. Take Italy for instance, its expenditure mostly stems from tourism and services, with a proportion of approximately 82%. Besides, travelling is a non-smoke industry, thus requiring almost no machinery but human resources. This sector has created millions of jobs for employees and contributed to accelerating the employment rates all over the globe.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, although tourism brings about both merits and demerits, I concur that its profound constructive effects on the economy and the labour market outweigh its negligible drawback on the environment.