Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In the cutting – edge of technology, computer devices has become prevalent in modern society so some people assumed that spending money on maintaining public libaries is not necessary . However, from my perspective, I am not in favour of this opinion.

First of all, libraries are appropriate places to concentrate on reading books or completing works due to their peaceful atmosphere. For example, the number of students who focus on studying hard tend to finish their homework in libraries rather than other places. Because instead of learning, being seduced by entertainment applications on smartphones or laptops on is inevitable. Additionally, if spending much times on working with computers can cause negative problems which impact on vision of users such as short sightedness or eyestrain.

Besides, not everyone is interested in accessing information by computers. There are several impoverished people who can not afford to pay for smart devices such as e-books, laptops, still continue reading book in local libraries. Another thing is that adoption of new technology like smartphones, computers seem to be unfeasible for elderly people as previous generations do not know how to use these devices that did not appear universally few decades ago.

In conclusion, it can not be denied that even though computer technology brings a lot of advantageous effects for readers, it can not replace the crucial position of libraries. Thus, I believe that government authorities should invest money to upgrade library infrastructure.