Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since digital technology is now replacing their function.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the advancement of technology many people tend to read on the electronic devices rather than the manual books. This lead to some assumption that it is a waste of time and money to maintain public libraries in term of the utilization of digital book. It seems to me that I agree with this view point and this essay will explain the reasons.

Firstly, modernization significantly changed people lifestyle including the way people read. Numerous people prefer to use their gadget and electronic device to read something. They said that it is more convenience and portable for them. The trend is revealed by the sale of kindle from Amazon, which sold 16 million devices in 2016. following this, many environment organizations support this act which can be seen from their campaign towards the reduction of paper-based book. The portable devices surely affect the use of tree to produce paper. By this it means that digital technology substantially declines the environmental problem. In addition, maintaining the public library which has numerous books need a complicated way if we see from the material those are made from. For example, printed book need to be stored in a dry place and prevented from bug. Each book should be arranged correctly and handled appropriately. Another reason is that public libraries arrange books according to subject which are harder to be found rather than using e-book in which we only find a subject or keyword from search menu.

It is true that public library is still destination for majority people to read and lend books. Nonetheless, it seems advisable that nowadays people tend to have limited time to visit public libraries which lead them to use more their phone or laptop for reading something. In addition, maintaining the public library which has numerous books need a complicated method and waste the time due to the less of users.

For the reason mention above, digital technology truly changed the reading habit of a proportion of people so that they leave the library behind.