In many cities, many people are living in large apartment blocks. Does this accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, more and more people are accommodating in large apartment buildings especially in big cities where the population is constantly growing. This matter has both upsides and downsides for cities and people living in them.

From dwellers' perspective, living in an apartment complex might give a chance for socializing. This is because there are more people sharing the same building and naturally they encounter each other quite often. This would mean they can get to know each other, perhaps plan and do activities together, help each other, which will lead to a social community. Living in solidarity and social community can bring well-being to everyone.

From city planning perspective, these buildings are necessary as there are more and more people who need housing. Instead of building single houses, it is more feasible, economical and practical to construct apartments to meet the needs of cities' growing population. This is true particularly for small-sized but crowded cities as there not enough space to provide housing for everyone.

Having said these, the downside of living in tall and large apartments should be addressed as well. That is, sharing a living space lessens the privacy of individuals, which might not suit everyone. In an apartment building, there are at least two next-door neighbours that can be heard even if they talk just a bit louder. Furthermore, some people are just not accustomed to the lifestyle of apartment-living. In other words, they are not aware of the social rules such as not smoking in the building, not leaving the garbage outside, respecting others' privacy.

In conclusion, living in an apartment has pros and cons. Even though it might be a lot less private than living in a single house, personally, I believe that sharing the living space with others in an apartment-complex, either because of the necessity or preference, appears to be more advantageous when socialising aspect and urban planning are taken into account.