In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

It is undeniable that increasing number of people prefer living in large apartment blocks in most of the cities nowadays, and I believe this development has more advantages compared with disadvantages.

On the one hand, apartment housing system is comprised of number of positives. I believe, one evident benefit people get by living in such cramped schemes is, lower housing rent. Since city dwellers are subjected to large number of other expenses, they believe housing is one of the expenses in which they can compromise and optimize their monthly budget. As a result, the saving resulted from this step can be directed towards other crucial expenses such as, tuition fees of their children, medication of elderly and daily commute. In contrast, if this option would not have been available, city habitants would have been suffering from cash crunch. Nonetheless, thanks to large apartment blocks, which allows people with feasibility to manage their own finances.

On the other hand, such places may also some drawbacks. Firstly, people living in such spaces need to face space crunch. In other words, since rental for this these blocks is less, the accessible area that people get to live is also extremely small. This type of living may take away individual privacy and is often seen as aggravating individual temper. For instance, one survey conducted by times magazine mentioned that people who live in large apartment blocks are 30% percent more aggressive compared with people living in individual houses. Thus, lack of privacy may affect individual behavior.

In conclusion, though living in large apartment blocks have some disadvantages, I personally feel, saving that middle-class families achieve is more satisfying for their daily living. Not only this, but I think people will continue living in such places, who aspire for better future of their children.