In many countries around the world life expectancy is increasing Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion Write at least 250 words

By virtue of the development of the field of medicine, in many nations throughout the world, life span is going up. While some people believe there are clear upsides of increasing longevity, I would contend that the drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, there are two reasons to believe the expanding lifespan is beneficial. One evident strength is that elderly people have the time to do the things they like. They get the opportunity to pursue their dreams, enjoy the end of their lives with people who they love, such as family members, their life partner, … Increasing the aged span also keep the family generation more close, which leads to raise happy planet index of a nation and boost development in all aspects

However, I am firmly of the opinion that the downsides are serious, far outweighing the merits. The primary reason is that this trend would lead to national economic burden. The older people are , the more money local authorities have to pay for their retirement, insurance. If the majority of government's money is spent on this field, they find it difficult to invest in others such as education, facilities,... Another considerable issue is environmental damages. Life expectancy is growing up means that the percentages of death outstrip the proportion of birth, which would lead to overpopulation. The consequences of this are global warming, water pollution,....

In conclusion, I personally believe that the expanding life span is associated with serious adverse influences such as national economic and environmental problems that far overshadow the positive aspects that could be gained.