In many countries the cost of living is rising. What are the effects on individuals and society? What measures can be taken to cope with this problem?

It is true that in many nations, it is becoming increasingly difficult for majority of people to make ends meet. Several problems have resulted from this tendency and they should be tackled by a number of effective solutions.

As rising living costs, several related problems can be anticipated. One of the major issues related to this is that individuals faced with higher prices for everyday necessities such as food, paying rent and heating bills. They are also forced to make cutbacks the household budgets in order to make the most of their income. From the perspective of society, when goods and services are more expensive, major socio-economic changes occur. People spend less in stores and on entertainments. Citizens have to pay in arrears or run up debts. As a result, whole economy of the country goes down gradually.

However, effective policies must be adopted to tackle the rise in living costs. One solution to this issue is for government to provide public subsidies for basis needs like food, heating and healthcare. Take the USA as an example, citizens on average incomes cannot afford rising medical bills, and so universal free medical heath should high on the agenda of the government. Secondly, if governments curbed public spending on military weapons, they would be able to prioritize expenditure on programmes to reduce taxes for people in low incomes. This would help people to afford the higher prices in the shops and enable them to buy the things they need.

Inc onclusion, there are various consequences of rising living costs not only for individuals but also for society. Therefore, appropriate steps need to be taken to solve these issues