In many countries, imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. However, some people
believe that better education will be a more effective solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
In various nations, prison sentence is a common punishment for offenders. While some hold the view
that training is more beneficial than custody, the other disagree. In my idea, education has more benefit
rather than other retributions. I will state the reasons for my view in this essay.
The most compelling reason for holding to my view is that prison sentence is useless to prevent
criminals from reoffending. Firstly, no practical change would happen in their life as a prisoner. As
committing crimes is a consequence of how people think and their mindset is, deep and real changes
should be created in their thoughts to turn over a new leaf. It would not be achieved unless appropriate
and adequate training schemes are considered. It can be really helpful for those who are enticed by
others to become an offender. Moreover, committing crimes is not only because of lack of education,
but also because of being jobless that may lead people to some offences: smuggling, mugging and theft
to earn money. If people learn a skill, their chance for finding a job will be increased. So, teaching a skill
can make offenders to find a job and possibility of reoffending would be lessened in this situation.
Another reason for my position is that being in a jail has some drawbacks as well as physical and mental
hurts and should be altered by another punishment such as education. Despite all protecting measures,
many diseases and injuries can be observed in jails. Sometimes, health condition is not acceptable in
prisons. Nor can a wide variety of viruses and bacteria exist there. In addition, it is common in jails that
criminals fall out with each other. So, some of them will be hurt. On the other hand, becoming
homesick, depressed and disappointed is one of the hazards that can threaten prisoners mentally.
In conclusion, prison sentence has some demerits that are really significant. However, many advantages
can be achieved by training criminals.