In many countries, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the disadvantages and advantages of this trend and give your own idea.

It is true that people in all over the world may expect to live longer than ever before. This trend leads to some negative and positive impact on our societies. However, I believe that the pros overweigh the cons.

As we live longer and the populations of countries grow older, several related problems can be anticipated. One issue is that there will be more people of retirement age who will be eligible to receive a pension. The proportion of younger, working adults will be smaller, and governments will therefore receive less money in taxes in relation to the size of the population. In other words, an ageing population will mean a greater tax burden for working adults. However, these adverse impacts just occur in a few countries.

On the other hand, changing demographic bring in advantages in terms of lasting happiness and looking after families. Living longer gives us more opportunities to enjoy recreational activities or to do whatever we want. We can travel to new destinations and get involved in a wide range of hobbies which was impossible while working and bringing up a family. Furthermore, those with grandchildren can have time to help young, busy parents with such tasks as collecting kids from school or even share experiences with the younger generation.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages caused by changing demographics, I am of the opinion that this trend still affect us on many positive aspects.