In many countries, mainly tourist, but not local people, visit museums and historical site.

Why does this happen?

What can be done to attract more to attract more local people to visit these place?

In contemporary society, local museums and historical monuments are mostly visited by outsiders. This phenomenon begs the question of why these sites do not attract local people and which practices could be taken into consideration to make them more appealing to them.

To begin with, I presume that the contributions to this concerning pattern vary from intrinsic factors, such as people’s priorities, to extrinsic factors, such as the way tourist offices carry out services. Firstly, it is widely observed that local people tend to prioritize their financial issues and lucrative things which drives them to spend most of their lifetime at work. In contrast, while the local have less leisure time to make a trip, the tourists who are ready to spend their budget on recreational facilities find local heritage an intriguing field to explore. Secondly, extrinsic factors might result from the operation of tour services. Some services are surprisingly expensive which leads to a drop in the local tendency to visit these ancient places.

Nevertheless, nothing is unsolvable if appropriate approaches are put into practice, two of which I find most effective and noteworthy. The first one is shifting target audiences from adults to teenagers by organizing hand-on activities for pupils and students to pay a visit to local historical attractions. This practice not only serves as a relaxing activity after school, enhancing their knowledge, but it could also raise patriotism among individuals. Another tactic that might be worth considering is discounting entrance fees or offering locals free of charge. This responsibility would fall within the scope of the local authority’s regulations to impose tax exemptions.

In conclusion, the factors contributing to the drop in local tourists are manifold and variable. Such promising practices need to be taken into account such as organizing extracurricular activities for students or offering preferential treatment for local people, to prevent this issue from exacerbating.