In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Is it a positive or negative development ?

In many countries, an increasing number of customers purchase imported food instead of domestic food. In my opinion, this trend could bring more drawbacks than advantages.

When foreign food is bought, For the first reason, the living standard of the locallabour force could be reduced. The reason is that the increasing consumption of imported food could bring a decline in the manufacturing economy, thereby leading to decrease career opportunities for local producerpeople. For example, according to a report of The Word Bank, Brazil has a higher 4,6% unemployment since it has depended on importing food from China.

Secondly, customer’s health could run the risk of being harmed. In fact, some foods which are shipped internationally tend to require excessive artificial ripening or chemical preservatives. As a consequence, it may create food poisoning and decrease the nutritional potential. In contrast, consuming locally produced foodinstead of being partial to food from other countries, shoppers could ẹnjoy fresh and nourishing food in local region.