In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, containers made of plastic have been used more popularly than in the past. I personally believe that the benefits of this phenomenon overshadow its downsides.

On the one hand, the disadvantage is that plastic containers being discharged may negatively affect the environment in some ways. This is mainly because plastic material is hard to decompose. For example, a study shows that plastic bags take up to 1000 years to dissolve. As a consequence, they might afflict the growing process of plants, as containers blend into the soil and become toxic for the roots. Additionally, using plastic containers can also affect people’s health, especially if they use them to store hot food or drinks. This is because the temperature may make the plastic melt and contaminate the food.

On the other hand, the usage of plastic containers brings about some perks. Firstly, plastic materials are extremely cheap, which leads to the low cost of containers made of plastic. People now can buy plastic products to store their food at an extremely affordable price. Moreover, due to the abundance of materials, plastic containers are mass-produced. This means that plastic containers can be easy to find everywhere and available for everyone. For instance, Vietnam is a country that recorded a high number of plastic containers consumed each year. Vietnamese can easily find plastic bags and cups at every store and buy them at a very low price. As a result, they use them every day to store their leftover food before putting them in the fridge.

In conclusion, I believe that despite some listed positive aspects of using plastic containers, the drawbacks of this trend still prevail over its perks.