In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and water, so people think they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Using plastic bags for shopping is considered to pollute land and sea. For this reason, it is thought that this practice should be prohibited. From my perspective, i strongly agree with this notion in light of the fact that less plastic consumption can curb land and sea pollution.

To begin with, plastic bags have a tremendous influence on land and contribute to triggering land pollution. This is because plastic bags do not degrade and their toxic chemicals can contaminate the soil. Now that plastic bags stuck under the soil can reduce the soil fertility, which interferes with the growth of plants and can be devastating to the ecosystem. Henceforth, there is no doubt that plastic bags are one of the factor responsible for land pollution.

The second point is that plastic bags can wreak havoc on the oceans, since they are lightweight and tend to be carried from the landfills to the oceans without a hitch. As a result, marine animals can be entangled in these objects, which causes them hard to breath and then end up dying from being unable to untangle themselves. Likewise, that organisms ingest plastic bags also brings lots of problem. For example, turtles often mistake plastic bags for jelly fish and consume them unknowingly, leading to digestive disorder or even death. As can be seen, these consequences are inevitable and the root is nothing but plastic bags

To conclusion, much as plastic bags have become part of our lives, it is vital to come up with solutions so as to reduce plastic consumption. Substituting friendly-environmental materials such as paper bag,leaf,etc… or reusing plastic bags is truly a great help. Only by doing so can land and sea be less polluted.