In many countries, prison is the common solution to the problem of crime. However, another effective way is to provide people with better education so that they will not become criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, committing crimes is a serious problem in more and more countries. How to address this issue triggers hot debate. As far as I am concerned, prison is necessary but not the only solution.

On the one hand, better education is an effective solution to prevent crime. One of the leading functions of education is to teach young people moral values, such as being tolerant and sharing. If people do not know these values, it would be easy to conflict with others and hurt others/they would have conflict with others and hurt others.

As a result, education is conducive to improving juvenile delinquency. Another function of education is to impart knowledge and skills to students. It means that people who grasp working skills through better education will find a job to make a living , and this can prevent people from committing crimes because of a lack of money.

However, given some criminals posing a threat to society, the role of education is limited. Prison is better for them in case that they endanger society again. For example, people who are accused of drug trafficking, even though they could get high-paying jobs, they could still conduct wrong doings due to the lure of money. Undoubtedly, these people exert negative influence on society and they cannot be changed just by better education. In addition, prison, in particular life imprisonment in particular , has a more deterrent effect on criminals. Prison means losing freedom, discouraging potential criminals who are afraid of from being restricting freedom.

In conclusion, better education can reduce the possibility of committing crimes, whereas prison is the common solution to deter potential criminals and punish criminals.