Many countries spend a lot of money in the arts. Some people think investment in the arts is necessary, but others say money is better spent on public services and facilities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether the funding of government should spend on arts or public services and facilities.While some people disagree with the idea of government invests money to arts ,I believe that the majority of money should be spent on public services and the smaller proportion of funds needs to be allocated to arts.

Some art projects definitely require help from the government.Firstly,some brilliant art forms,such as sculptures and paintings,revoke the shared emotions of the public by representing the culture,heritage and history of the whole country from different perspectives.Without these charming art forms,our countries may seem much less interesting and attractive.Secondly,some of these arts attract millions of tourists from all over the world and these arts function as landmarks or talking points to educate foreigners about the country.Governments should be happy to subside important art forms which can contribute to the economy of the host country.

On the other hand,I can totally understand the arguments against government funding for arts.The main reason for this view is that governments have more urgent concerns.For example,they have the responsibility to use the budget to finance the public facilities and necessary equipment which can completely benefit the whole society.Public services such as education,healthcare and infrastructure are all vital for a country to function properly.If these issues can not be addressed effectively,the work of arts may seem like a luxury.Consequently,government may give the priority of funding to the public service to meet the needs of the majority of people.

In conclusion,the are good reasons why art projects should be paid attention to,but in my opinion public services and facilities are also fundamental requirements that should be supported by funds firstly.