In many countries, students attend private ‘cram schools’ for extra coaching in test-taking techniques.

What is your view of this practice?

Nowadays, with the advent of many education models and school models, exams have become more diverse, intense, and complex. This has led to an explosion of ‘cram schools’, which train test-taking techniques for students to handle a variety of tests.

Some argue that these kinds of schools will help students gain more knowledge, think faster, and get higher results. Nevertheless, in my view, ‘cram schools’ probably have some negative consequences, which are worth looking for a better solution.

There is no denying that extra coaching helps students increase concentration, improve analytical skills, and manage time better while doing tests. However, this gradually creates path-thinking and mechanical thinking in students and lacking creativity due to stereotypes in test-taking techniques.

A more positive solution for education to help students sharpen and enhance their competencies is to build self-study skills. Although this may take much time for learners to find suitable ways to achieve knowledge, they will understand more deeply about the lessons and the essence of many problems with the ways to solve them. These things are definitely necessary for students to use in real jobs and real life. Besides, governments of these countries have to consider releasing the number of exams and increasing practicing hours to help students find their ways to access the treasure of knowledge.

It’s easy to see that in the modern world, people need to be more flexible, creative, and independent. Moreover, everyone is unique with their own abilities, so self-study skills should be accepted and encouraged in many countries to truly explore the potentials of human beings.